Webinars Series

Get an insider view from people who craft power market auctions every day

In this exclusive webinar series, developed by our team of experts, you will learn from the very people who are responsible for shaping the power market auctions every day. You will better understand how market clearing algorithms such as those used for the European day-ahead market (EUPHEMIA) and other power markets work.

We'll begin with the basics and progress to the most advanced.

What will you get out of it?

  • Get a close look at the main power market in Europe, i.e the Single Day-Ahead Market Coupling, relying on EUPHEMIA.
  • Enhance your knowledge of the current energy market situation and how it can evolve.
  • Understand how prices and volumes are determined by market clearing algorithms.
  • Anticipate future challenges, such as renewable or storage integration, zonal vs nodal, and other market design dimensions.
  • Or if you simply enjoy an in-depth conversation about the power market with industry professionals.

I want to join the next session

Power Matching Solution illustration
Capsule 1: Theoretical foundations

Power Market Auctions 101

Dec 6th, 10 am CET | 12 pm GMT+3 | 6 pm GMT+9

What you will learn

  • The economic principles useful for understanding power markets and auctions
  • How European power markets are organized
  • What is the welfare optimization and why it is important
  • What is meant by the crossing the supply and demand

Speakers

CGE-B
Céline Gérard Energy Markets Consultant
MTO-B
Marcelo Torres Principal - Energy Markets
JLB-B
Julien Le Baut Head of Sales

 

Power matching inputs illustration
Capsule 2: Hands-on with EUPHEMIA as an example

How do modern power market auctions work?

Feb 1st, 10 am CET | 12 pm GMT+3 | 6 pm GMT+9

What you will learn

  • What are the inputs & outputs of a market clearing algorithm, such as the one used for the Single Day-Ahead Coupling of electricity markets in Europe
  • What are the main design elements of auctions
  • How the electricity prices and volumes are computed in practice
  • What are the main challenges in computing prices and how we overcome them

Speakers

PMO-B
Pierre-Paul Mouchet Senior Software Engineer
PCU-G
Pierre Crucifix Product Owner of the N-SIDE Power Matching Algorithm
JLB-B
Julien Le Baut Head of sales
N-SIDE Euphemia Webinar Series Power Market Auctions
Capsule 3: Forward looking

How to make Power Markets ready for the future?

Apr 4th, 10 am CET | 11 am GMT+3 | 5 pm GMT+9

You will learn how auction algorithms can evolve to

  • Support a growing number of orders from market participants
  • Integrate optimally new technologies such as RES or storage
  • Deal with co-optimization, across energy and capacity and across multiple ancillary services
  • Accommodate more local price signals and grid constraints

Speakers

TGU-B
Thomas Gueuning Senior Consultant and Project Manager of EUPHEMIA
MTO-B
Marcelo Torres Principal - Energy Market
JLB-B
Julien Le Baut Head of sales

Register to the webinar

Who is N-SIDE?

N-SIDE is a leader in power market clearing algorithms. We have been working on EUPHEMIA since its inception; we co-designed EUPHEMIA with European Power Exchanges, and built and maintained it for the past decade, all with an eye toward making it future-proof for the next decade. Our solutions are used by multiple Transmission System Operators and Power Exchanges worldwide.